Thinking of Starting an Agency

cnome02

Hi, I am currently working a major insurance carrier. I am an underwriting manager and thinking of branching out on my own by starting an agency. I make very good money now and am a bit worried about a drop off in income. I underwrite E&O insurance. Can anyone provide some advice to someone looking to start up. If i start with auto and homeowners etc do you think I will be able to cross sell the E&O and is cold calling the best way to start?

Make sure you have plenty of capital when starting out scratch...especially for p&c...you will likely be in "the red" for at least a year and probably longer with start up costs and overhead.

What state are you in and what companies will you have...give us a little more...

I would be starting the agency with a partner and we would start in NY/NJ. Eventually I would like to leave him in NY/NJ and head to CA. Also, I was hoping that during the first year I could get away with working from a home office to limit overhead. For the P&C I would use a wholesale broker to start. I have great wholesale relationships and the wholesaler I have in mind works for a large national company that is appointed everywhere
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Buzz, how did you find your P&C clients when you first started? That is my biggest concern, getting new business in the door. I am expert on E&O and D&O but I am not sure how I would go about getting the business, would you recommend buying a small book?
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Sorry BTFuzz, I called you Buzz by accident

Last edited:
buying a book would be the best if you find a good one...starting scratch is no picnic today with all of the competition especially for personal lines.