Can Teaming Up with P & C Work

quinti59

I am looking into getting into Voluntary Benefits market. I have 15 years experience in personal INS and wholsaled. I have friends who work on the P & C side and want feedback on the getting referral bus from their comercial clients. Has anyone tried this approach?

I can kind of help you on this, but we have a little bit of a different situation. I do group health and voluntary benefits. The problem would arise by getting into each others business.

For me, any referrals would be a bonus. I need to be able to at least hand off a P&C to a client, but getting an in-house would be optimal. Its hard to compete with the full-service brokerages , but at least having a "loose" referral base would be very helpful. I would eventually like to have a P&C agent in-house. I know they would get a lot of referrals from our end right off the bat, the question is are we going to be stepping into each others business. I know I will never go into P&C, but will they do health or voluntary?

Since you are looking specifically at the voluntary market, you have a little bit of a different time. Do these P&C friends have their own agency? From what I have seen, the only areas a P&C guy will try to get into (Outside of health) is individual life. You need to know exactly what your friends do and what they plan on doing in the future. Obviously any time you can a non-threatening referral base, it is a good situation. Networking is very under-utilized in the insurance business.

I can kind of help you on this, but we have a little bit of a different situation. I do group health and voluntary benefits. The problem would arise by getting into each others business.