Fmo Release Questions

Dan452

Hi. I'm a new agent and was unsure about the fmo release process. I was working with an fmo but they weren't producing very well so I've decided to join a different one. This one was not captive so if I join another non-captive fmo will I need a release from the previous one? They're also not listed as my upline on any carriers. Also I was considering too possibly joining blue cross which is captive. Will I need a release to join them? Do agents need releases from non captive fmos to join captive ones or not? Also is bcbs a good company to sell for or not really. The agency I'm going to be working with also requires e&o. I assumed most companies cover the e&o so is that normal or a red flag?

I was working with an fmo but they weren't producing very well so I've decided to join a different one.

What do you mean "they" weren't producing well ?

This one was not captive so if I join another non-captive fmo will I need a release from the previous one?

Probably. Unless you didn't produce anything, then go by company policy.

They're also not listed as my upline on any carriers.

Who is listed ?

Are you saying they didn't disclose who is above them ?

Hi. I'm a new agent and was unsure about the fmo release process. I was working with an fmo but they weren't producing very well so I've decided to join a different one. This one was not captive so if I join another non-captive fmo will I need a release from the previous one? They're also not listed as my upline on any carriers. Also I was considering too possibly joining blue cross which is captive. Will I need a release to join them? Do agents need releases from non captive fmos to join captive ones or not? Also is bcbs a good company to sell for or not really. The agency I'm going to be working with also requires e&o. I assumed most companies cover the e&o so is that normal or a red flag?