Realistic New Agent Expectations

dustyblue6

Hi all, I've been lurking on this forum for a couple of months and have now got questions of my own. I'm new to insurance. I quit my job on the 3rd of October 2014 to do this full-time. From October on, I've been captive twice now selling FE first with Old American now Lincoln Heritage. Along with the leads being $35 a pop, I write 3-4 out of 10. Of course you know that in this market we're working with low to moderate income customers and at this point I'm figuring I should find a job and sell part-time to build up any momentum to live off of.

My question(s): Is it always going to be this way? How do you live off this full-time? Is there another part of this industry where you don't have to dig so fiercely for customers and get bigger commissions?

I'm at a cross roads here. I got into this to fund my retirement and pay off debt, how do I make this realistically work for me?

Thanks.

Along with the leads being $35 a pop, I write 3-4 out of 10. Of course you know that in this market we're working with low to moderate income customers and at this point I'm figuring I should find a job and sell part-time to build up any momentum to live off of.
Something's missing and/or misstated here.

You buy 10 leads at $35 each ($350 total). You sell three (at the industry average of $50/month) is $1,800 in annual premium. At 120%, that should generate $2,160 in FYC. That should generate a 75% advance of $1,620 a week. Deduct the leads ($350.), and that leaves you $1,270. a week.

Something doesn't add up....(and it's not MY math)

Yes, at $50 monthly premiums and at a 75%. But my average is $21 to $32 in monthly premiums at 90% commission and 75% of that upfront. I not real confident of selling a good chunk of LH leads, so I'm doing no more than 10 leads a week. So either I'm doing something wrong, or there's something else that I'm not doing.