I Got My First Cold Call to Agree to an Appointment!!

Mburns

Expert
Two days in to the dreaded cold calling (not my main source of leads but I like a full calendar). It took me almost a week and a half to finally get the courage to pick up the phone but I had an experienced agent told me if I really care about these people, I need to be able to get in front of them and I can't get in front of them if I don't talk to them. I've started with business cards I see sitting in restaurants and ReferenceUSA but I really want to work my way up to business owners like Ben Feldman did.

I got two yesterday and one today, not too bad for 30 minutes a day! If I can get a good process going I'm hoping to generate at least 1 extra appointment a day from it. Only problem is out of calling 100 people, 78 of them were on DNC. Should I invest in a scrubbed list? I'm a pretty green agent and my first business expense is a car that actually works, so money will be tight for a little while.

I wanted to thank everyone in this forum though, for being so awesome and supportive. I've not been much more than a lurker but I always find a gem of a thread every time I'm on here that motivates me to pound the pavement, pick up the phone, and meet prospects so I can solve their problems. You guys rock!

Two days in to the dreaded cold calling (not my main source of leads but I like a full calendar). It took me almost a week and a half to finally get the courage to pick up the phone but I had an experienced agent told me if I really care about these people, I need to be able to get in front of them and I can't get in front of them if I don't talk to them. I've started with business cards I see sitting in restaurants and ReferenceUSA but I really want to work my way up to business owners like Ben Feldman did.