I'm A Newbie And Need Help!

Let me start off saying I have no background in sales and I just got my P&C license. My Brother is the owner of the agency I am working at (all commission no draw), but he has no time to show me anything about selling, prospecting or cold calling. He really hasn't had to do these things for awhile.

At this point I am more concerned with getting some small business policies to offer a competing quote. I have tried some cold calling (from phone book) to no avail. I'm sure my script leaves much to be desired. Any help with the following questions would be greatly appreciated.

1: Should I buy a targeted list?
2: Any good scripts for setting up a time to go to the business and getting a copy of their Dec pages, so I can come up with a competing quote.
3: I am willing to go business to business in person but what do I say, and should I bring a pamphlet?
4: Read a few books on selling, what do you all think of a sales course?
5: Do I need a dialer? and if so what one is good and basic?

Sorry to need so much direction but I am in a new environment and without much direction. All I hear is just get out there.

Thanks in advance everyone.

Wow! So, no sales experience and no training. If your going to try and beat your competition, you need to know your products inside and out.

As far as books go, search these forums. There are a couple of great threads on good selling books. Watch some Zig Ziglar vids on youtube. It can be a good start.

If you want to beat your competition, offer what they don't if you can. I have a close friend who built her P&C business completely off hard to place risks.

Contacting businesses is good, but, if your dealing with seasoned business professionals, then you need to have your "A" game when you contact them. You'll be one in a long line of people that have interrupted their day.

goodluck
sherd

Book looks good...but it was published 15yrs ago. Does it still apply?