Does 70 Yr Old Female Need Whole Life

DeeRae

I currently have an annuity which I no longer feel is a good investment for me due to the high expenses and I haven't had it long enough to annuitize for much ($3,000/year). I have reached the point where there is no penalty to withdraw - only withdrawl fees. My fin. advisor has suggested putting the money into a whole life policy. My main goal for this money is to be left to my two adult sons. I'm unsure if this is the best plan - he says it would ensure a specific amount be left to them whereas a Roth IRA (I am still working part time) would of course be subject to ups and downs of the market. I do not anticipate needing this money during my lifetime. I currently have social security which I started drawing at 70, retirement from my job, a LTC/life insurance policy, money market, Roth IRA and IRA. At this time, money from SS, retirement, and part time work is more than enough for my living expenses. I have done extensive research on whole-life as an investment piece, but that has produced just more confusion. Any input appreciated.

My health is very good. My LTC/Life policy is with Pacific Life. I got it with a large one time investment. It can be used for long term care if needed - up to about 4 times the amount of the policy. If I don't have to use it for LTC there is a death benefit.

Until I have to use it for LTC or I die.

----------

If I use only part of it for LTC the remainder goes to beneficiaries.

I'm sorry, what I meant was how long is the policy guaranteed to stay in force?

It might say something like to age 90, to age 100, to age 110, or to age 120.

When the agent showed you the illustration, do you recall how long it ran?

I'm sorry, what I meant was how long is the policy guaranteed to stay in force?

It might say something like to age 90, to age 100, to age 110, or to age 120.

When the agent showed you the illustration, do you recall how long it ran?