Any Experience with ADP/Travelers WC ?

Scottyj

Guru
100+ Post Club
Utah
Just to preface, I am in my first year of P&C so this is pretty new to me still.

So over the last few weeks I have been working with a commercial Janitorial service company who have been using ADP for just about 4 years now and over those 4 years they used ADP insurance services to supply them with Workers comp coverage placed through Travelers... While doing my homework and talking to my underwriters at Travelers I came to find out the coverage they had through Travelers according to my commercial underwriter was some proprietary master policy Travelers created for ADP and is structured similarly to what other PEO services provide.

Well on to the good stuff. He came to me for a quote back in August because Travelers kept raising his rates and he had paid over 20k last year. I did some searching and was able to quote him at just under 15k through AmTrust. He loved it and immediately cancelled his PEO service through ADP/Travelers mid-term and we got him started with Amtrust effective 10/01/11.

Now for the best part just yesterday my client receives a letter in the mail from Travelers stating he owes them 15k???? on a pay-by-pay policy?:err: (this particular policy he had was audited every two weeks after each pay period, so tell me how do they owe more premium?)

Anyone have a similar experience?

I know this is not necessarily my problem being I told him I don't know a ton about these proprietary products through Travelers made for ADP before I got him the quote and I even told him there could be issues in switching over but he did not seem to care. Now that this is all said and done I would like to lend him a hand as he does look to me as his insurance advocate... I will be receiving a copy of this letter on Monday but am pretty sure this is not a short-rate/fee, so I am wondering if there is some sort of mid-term cancellation penalty in the ADP contract ?

Last edited: