Loss Ratio

nyc2phi

Guru
1000 Post Club
I am still new to having a loss ratio matter and I am still not quite sure I understand how it works.

I noticed I have claims that are open and claims that are closed. It appears they are currently taking the total amount of open and closed claims and comparing it to how much earned premium I have written. This gives them a ratio or percentage of claims vs. earned premium to determine how well or bad I am doing, correct?

I am in my first year so will they calculate my loss ratio and earned premium on an annual basis and look at it that way or will they add my earned premium up for each year and compare it to the total amount of open and closed claims for each year? '

I.e. earned premium year 1+ earned premium year 2/ total losses year 1 + total losses year 2

I am still new to having a loss ratio matter and I am still not quite sure I understand how it works.

I noticed I have claims that are open and claims that are closed. It appears they are currently taking the total amount of open and closed claims and comparing it to how much earned premium I have written. This gives them a ratio or percentage of claims vs. earned premium to determine how well or bad I am doing, correct?

I am in my first year so will they calculate my loss ratio and earned premium on an annual basis and look at it that way or will they add my earned premium up for each year and compare it to the total amount of open and closed claims for each year? '

I.e. earned premium year 1+ earned premium year 2/ total losses year 1 + total losses year 2