Advice on building out a multi-State Medicare agency

AmaboCare

I have been a licensed agent for years but instead of enrolling beneficiaries myself I got involved with marketing, generating leads and selling them to agencies.

I am now looking to build out my own agency and already have an LLC entity setup licensed in many States. At first I will be the only agent but over time the plan is to build a small team.

I have experience with Medicare but I have zero experience acting as an agent. Any advice on building out a multi-state agency and navigating my situation would be greatly appreaciated - working with an FMO/IMO, upline/downline, etc.

I am going down this path to earn more income and "own" the client commision renewals as opposed to earning a one time marketing fee. I will essentially be a telesales agent answering inbound calls. I'm not the type of person who enjoys talking on the phone for hours so I am a bit nervous about that. Any suggestions for bringing on agents, downline structure, would help so that I could eventually shift my role back to marketing. Thank you

Not going to lie, you're in for a shit show of stress. But, you likely know that. With the coming changes to MAPD (and <insert here> in regards to Medicare), the best course is to take 2024 and do nothing but sell yourself, no matter how much you don't enjoy it. Watch ROI all the way through, then see how much you can afford to pay an agent going into AEP with all the marketing dollar cuts. I'm a marketer, and it's 3 full-time jobs. So your marketing will suffer while you sell, but you simply cannot go from zero to 100mph overnight.

You'll then need a sales manager, even to look over a small team of just a few people. The biggest headache in business is walking on two legs. In THIS business? When marketers are telling every agent how much better they can do without you, it's a huge PITA.