Anyone incorporate and Elect S Corp to Save on Self Employment taxes

steve3752

Expert
I am an individual independent agent. Paid a lot in tax last year. At what point in income has anyone figured it makes sense to incorporate and elect S corp status and pay some of profit as income to avoid paying some self employment tax.

I've set up an S-Corp. Without getting too much into the weeds, you still must be an employee of the corporation getting W2 income.

The beauty of it is you can also take distributions from the S-Corp, and the distributions aren't subject to some of the withholdings.

The downside is, higher CPA cost (unless you do your own taxes - not easy w/ S-Corp) and when you get licensed/appointed, there are more fees (usually) because YOU are getting licensed/appointed, and often your CORP (the business entity) is also getting licensed/appointed.

Rule of thumb somewhere, at least when I started my S-Corp, is once you are close to $100,000 the extra savings make up for the extra costs.

I don't know exactly how much I save yearly, but it's significant.

I would say that the only rule of thumb on this one is to ask several accountants and agents in your state.

Why ask other agents or business owners in your state? Not all states are created equal with regard to ease and cost of setting up a business entity. Trust me when I say its a LOT more complicated that it should be. Not only do you have to set up the name with Sec of State, but you may need to get the name approved by your DOI. Then you have to pay fees to both the Sec of State and the DOI [at least in my state]. After you have completed all of that you then have to go back and get some of the commissions payments paid to your Corporation and not just your name. Does your State DOI require an entity license?