Could Use Your Help with Prospecting....

Insurance_Dude

Hello,

Let me start by saying I'm so very thankful that this forum exists. I've searched and read through multiple threads. It's great to see insurance professionals willing to help one another.

I'm in the process of becoming a captive agent for a company. I've worked for an agent selling life and health insurance for the past 5 years. All of my leads came from working the agent's book of business.

As a captive agent, I will be required to sell all lines of insurance and financial services (P&C, Life, Health, LTC, etc.). I also have to have a certain amount of leads in order to stay in the program. This means getting the full contact info, current insurance company and coverages, so that I am able to quote them when I open my doors.

I really need help with prospecting. I started to make a list of everyone I know. I have more friends/acquaintances than I do family.

Like most people, I stay in touch with everyone via social media. So I decided to send a few messages to a couple of friends. I start off friendly, genuinely asking how they are. Then I start telling them about my new opportunity. I close the message asking if I could give them a quote on their insurance and see if I can save them money.

I'm not getting any responses back (not even a "no"). If anything, I think some people are avoiding me. I never want to come off as pushy.

So to summarize it, I'm looking for a good way to tell everyone I know that i'm going to be an insurance agent, and would like to give them a quote.

Do you have any suggestions on how I can do this without making people feel like they have to avoid me?

Any suggestions are welcomed.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Ask them for their help to practice what you do - which is preparing quotes.

Tell them that they don't have to buy anything from you... so they can let their guard down.