Disability Buyout Insurance - Newbie Q

Hey, I am new to Life and Disability Insurance and trying to make sense of it all...any help is appreciated.

Client wants Disability Buyout Insurance (anyone have any experience with that here?).

Here is the issue: Business is worth 6m so each (of the two) partners wants 3m in coverage.

Need 1 yr. elimination.

I was only able to find coverage for around 1.5m with any carrier and participation limits seem to max out at 2-2.5m.

Any ideas on how to get the full amount?

Can I go to Lloyd's or something like that after I buy the first 1.5m?

Again, what are their occupations.

Nobody's asking for names or addresses.

It's OK to be cautious but not to the point where nobody can help you.

I actually don't know all that much past the fact that they are 5A - they are executives of some sort (CFO, CEO or something?)

Do you mind me asking how it matters if I know the class?

doublejay said:
I actually don't know all that much past the fact that they are 5A - they are executives of some sort (CFO, CEO or something?)

Do you mind me asking how it matters if I know the class?

How do you know the class without the occupation. Not all carrier will rate the same which is why they asked for the occupation.

Small business owners who use title of CEO/CFO rarely describes their work duties. For example, I have a client who says he is CEO but travels to client sites that use extremely hazardous chemicals which he comes into contact with. You need to know what their duties are because of what Norway said "not all carriers will rate the same".

Next, how do you know the company is worth $6m? Did they tell you this or do they have a valuation from a highly reputable source? (Rarely a company is worth what an owner estimates, similar to a home owner trying to sell) And if they are truly worth 6m how do they want to receive the benefit; lump sum or installments?