E&O Claims

RookieMistakes

Hi! I work for Farmers Insurance. I have been working in insurance for over a year. I am an insurance producer. Recently there have been a lot of changes in our company & I have made a huge mistake. So prior to these changes, I could close a home policy & offer replacement cost sometimes I would ask about the year of the roof sometimes not. I was still able to issue a replacement cost home insurance. But, in October of 2022, they rolled out with a new flex program. This program no longer offered Replacement cost, apparently it’s to roofs older than 9 years. Well at the beginning the error message I would get was “not available per zip.” So I would always quote replacement cost but it would say not available. Okay, so I sold ACV to many people!! I would sometimes update the roof sometimes not, because it was just not a routine I had. Since before I didn’t ask, but was still able to sel RCV. Whatever, now with the recent storms we have been having customers have been complaining & my agent had 3 E&Os now!! Because the roof year wasn’t updated nor was the ACV explained. So they are reforming my policies, adding RCV for roofs or adding endorsements that were never talked about before. I am in huge trouble it’s embarrassing. Now, we are going back to all of our policies recently sold & trying to update the roof, but I just feel so ugly so embarrassed. I am looking for another job just because I feel like I have failed everyone. How do I deal with this. I have customers who are still going through claims, some who haven’t filed so I have to call to update roof & 3 E&Os filed already. I feel such an urge to quit because I feel like I have messed up sooo much