First Year agent wrote 40 MA plans

MatchINS

So this is my first year being a Medicare Agent, I was able to write 40 plans all MA. Not sure if this is a decent amount to write as a single agent, but I hustled it. That being said, my FMO (AP) seems like they can care less about the work that I have done. I received one phone call this entire AEP, basically patting me on the back to say good job. Got a call this morning from my rep at Agent Pipeline saying that I was his top agent.....thanks! There has got to be more than a thanks??? I realize that I get paid my commissions from the carriers, but seriously shouldn't I get some kind of bonus from my Upline, or is that not a thing in the Medicare Ins world?

That being said, what is the process for switching FMOs?

You got a thanks? They aren't allowed to pay bonuses, take you on trips, etc for MAPD plans. Been making my FMO tens of thousands of dollars for 25 years and most I get is an offer for reduced lead cards that have been sent out 50 times before. The carriers are the ones that kiss my butt and throw money at me to use for advertising, promotional items, etc. FMO's are a worthless middle man that the companies make us use that get filthy rich off of us.

Sorry to say but get used to it! :) I've written 200+ MS policies a year for 14 years and have just gotten a few 'thanks' via email, very few and far between and minimal bonuses (to be fair, I did win an iPad one time from an FMO), "discounted" mail drops, and the occasional junk from an insurance company. Unless you are a new agent in need of training/support, FMOs don't offer much of value.

If you're looking for more than an attaboy in this industry, you're going to be disappointed.

You are a business owner, your the one that engages and congratulates you. FMOs are only there for contracts. They may have other perks, but that's just "in addition to.."