Just Sharing

Stephen

Guru
1000 Post Club
I started calling on 401(k) plans between $2m-$5m last week during my lag time. I just wanted to share and keep a public journal of the journey. I have a lot of phone experience, but this is my first crack at the business market.

So far I have only made 85 calls (3 meetings set) , here is what I have learned:

1. Getting past the gatekeeper: There are varying degrees of difficulty, some are just receptionists that pass me through no matter what, some are what I put in my CRM notes as a "BWG" (brick wall gatekeeper) that there is no getting through.

I try not to raise their antennas and just ask for the plan contact by first name like I am a golfing buddy, or long time customer or whatever....if they ask who is calling, I say "well sure, tell him Stephen is calling" (but not my company).

If they still haven't put me through, I realize that I may have a BWG and jokingly ask her if she could come and train my assistant to screen calls. We both laugh, and then I tell her why I am calling and ask if I am even asking for the right person. This works well enough, but some of them are just good at what they do.

2. The (hopefully) decision maker:

The most common 1st call outcome so far has resulted in leaving a voicemail. From my current small sample size, I am getting the plan contact on the phone live around 14% of the time.

Before I discuss business, I always state my name, ask how they are doing, and if I caught them at a good time. I was really surprised by how many people respond with "well that depends" I just say "it depends on what I want doesn't it?" and we both have a laugh.

With the pleasantries out of the way, I ask them for 15 minutes to introduce myself and what we are doing with 401(k) plans.

About 25% of the time I have gotten a yes, and other times a brother-in-law has the plan, just changed, happy with current provider etc...