Looking for Greener Pastures

I've been selling P&C and Life & Health insurance for 5 years. I started out working for a State Farm agent, moved to AAA, and finally ended up working for a Farmers Insurance agent (which is where I got the majority of my experience). In each of these settings, I was responsible for marketing for new business, writing new business, servicing old and new policies, cross selling, annual reviews of policies with customers, etc. In other words, I did all of the work that the agents advertised in the heartwarming commercials are theoretically responsible for. The downfall was that I was making an hourly wage comparable to what a customer service representative would have been making. Most people on this forum probably understand that CSR's generally act (and before I catch a lot of heat for this remark, BELIEVE ME, I KNOW THIS IS NOT ALWAYS THE CASE :1smile:)as secretaries and leave the majority of the selling and prospecting to the agent making the commission.
Last year, I began trying to start my own independent insurance agency to see if I could make as much money for myself as I was making for my former employer. Long story short, I worked for a captive agent, which in turn, made me captive too; meaning, I could only sell a life insurance policy from another company to a client (whether the client was in Farmers book of business or otherwise) if the client would not qualify for a Farmers life insurance policy. However, as Farmers didn't offer health insurance in the state I worked in, I was safe there. I have since been appointed with a few companies, but I was working so many hours for the former employer that I had no time to devote to my own business.