Monumental Life Insurance. Alot of People Told Me Not a Good Idea

mjnoles1

Expert
Monumental Life Insurance. Debit Insurance Agent. Not good idea?

Please Read full story and PLEASE help: They want me to start Febuary 1st.

They are very interested, I believe a little too interested in someone with no experience at all.

I have a bachelors degree and I am about to take my State of North Carolina Life/Health insurance state exam this Saturday (1/23/10).

At first glance, with the two interviews with the regional manager, I thought this was a great extry level career move for someone with only a bachelors degree. He stated to me that I would have a base salary of $3,600-$3,000 per month plus commission and full benefits for the first three months of training and then $1,800-$2,000 after that plus commission and full benefits. There would be no charge on my part (they even would include a laptop).

Then last week I spoke to the sales manager of the local branch that I would be working with during my 3 months of training. He said that they have life insurance plans for every class of people, but the people they mostly deal with is low income to very low-middle class. He said what I would be doing is going to the customers homes/apartments and collect their premiums and then try to up their policies. Tell them that it looks like it might be time to review their current policy. He then stated "I must let you know that you will be collecting premiums from people in the ghetto most of the time" and yes he did use the word ghetto. I really didn't think anything of it as I am a young ambitious guy looking to start a career.

I told my family and they did not like the idea at all, they said it seems like your less of trying to be an insurance sales man and more of being a collection agent. They also were very concerned for my safety with being in those types of areas at night, that I might be robbed or something of the sort. I thought it was just my family being family.