My Current Situation

I am a 31 year old. I have a Marketing degree and an associates in Process Technology. I have experience working in a law firm (civil litigation) and a tax company (tax resolution). I was laid off in 2012 and was looking for a job for six months until another gig came which I had to take because I didn’t have a choice. Right before going to work, I started working on setting up a bookkeeping and tax business with the intention that within a year or two, I would add insurance to the mix. I bought most of the equipment’s for small one man operation.

I worked for six months on the gig however the work was coming to an end. I was contacted by an ex-coworker who had a tax resolution business and they wanted additional help so she reached out to me. With the fact that the job I was currently working coming to an end, I took the opportunity came to work for her company. The salary is not great but I didn’t want to unemployed again. The job is very flexibility.

I know a young independent agent friend of mine who I previously spoke with and asked her if she could teach me the ropes of the insurance industry. She agreed and this is where I’m at now. She has been working independently for the past 3 years and previously worked for State Farm for several years.
She wants me to get P&C licenses which I am currently working on and should have it within 2 weeks followed by the health and life in a month. She wants me to get my own E & O insurance. She wants me to propose a commission split with her which I am going to propose a 60/40 split for premiums under $500k and 70/30 for premiums over $500k. Is that fair?