*Potential* New Agent Introduction

This is all great stuff, I appreciate the warm reception.

In order to succeed long term, one of the underlying themes that I have come across in the books and forum posts I have read thus far, is to focus on providing value up front and to always do the right thing. This could potentially mean, that sometimes NOT selling them something is the right solution as well.

Again, I am very new to all of this so I have a long way to go in educating myself and finding what will work for me, but I am already indebted to all of you for offering this info up for free essentially.

That is absolutely correct... and something often missed by industry detractors who believe that all we want to do is fit a square peg in a round hole. Granted, we know it does happen, but that's the mark of a salesman who wants the sale without any regard for the client or their wellbeing. I believe that advisors and consultants will help people understand their problems, offer solutions that are a good fit for them... or walk away from incompatible situations.

Also, detractors will also focus on the product you're trying to sell, rather than the problem you're trying to solve. "Is this just an excuse to sell me life insurance and/or annuities?" is a refrain from those who don't understand the problem and instead focus on the sale and product.

Advanced note: If you find that a prospect you're working with is getting caught up in the product and what it's called, redirect them back to the problem you're trying to help them solve and the various ways they can solve it. The sale is made when the problem is understood... not when the policy is understood.

(I must be in a really good mood because I almost never drop this kind of info on an introductory thread. lol.)