Question About Wholesale Insurance Companies?

So ive been doing P&C in NJ for about 2 years and average 50+ policies written a month. I was looking into starting my own agency through Smartchoice or Iroquois and wanted some veteran input. Im 24, im making about 70k+ a year doing what I do and have full benefits,401k,etc. Any guidance would be helpful as I realized it may be a challenged getting appointed without a wholesaler. Thanks and yes, I have searched and read the forums.

So ive been doing P&C in NJ for about 2 years and average 50+ policies written a month. I was looking into starting my own agency through Smartchoice or Iroquois and wanted some veteran input. Im 24, im making about 70k+ a year doing what I do and have full benefits,401k,etc. Any guidance would be helpful as I realized it may be a challenged getting appointed without a wholesaler. Thanks and yes, I have searched and read the forums.

Are you currently captive or indy? Selling mostly personal or commercial ? What part or NJ North or South?

Are you currently captive or indy? Selling mostly personal or commercial ? What part or NJ North or South?

Captive for NJ - third party for NY/PA as we dont directly write insurance under our own company. I write Personal lines also.

----------

Also, in the Freehold,NJ area.

I was in your same position at the same age. If you generate your sales on your own...go Indy and open your an agency.

NJ is tough for personal lines man. It's a no fault state and most Indies don't compete well compared to GEICO and Liberty Mutual who basically control most of the state.

Nationwide is opening markets in NJ I hear which would be semi captive but could be a good play since other states they compete well both commercial and personal and also have an open architecture with access to other carriers.

Just a suggestion. I left the captive world and went with a semi captive route and it worked well.

Last edited: