Terminology Help

yaymeq

Hey, I just got started with my studying to take the exam, the forum where I'm studying isn't very active so I wanted to come here. Is that alright? I'll be sure to give lots of advice when I finally get to that point in my career!

If a person leaves a fire going in a fireplace when they have to rush out for some reason, is that a physical hazard or a morale hazard?

The examples I was given of a physical hazard, (storing flammables next to a heater) sound a lot like carelessness to me. Isn't carelessness the definition of a Morale hazard though? So what's the difference?:1err:

Yaymeq,
Yes, it is a legitimate question, but you need to go to the Property and Casualty side of the forum to ask the question.

Morale needs indifference on the part of the person. If I own a beach home in the area of high hurricane activity (gulf of mexico or north carolina) and I purposely avoid buying coverage because the govt has always bailed us out, this would be morale.

Now back to your example it sounds like physical.

if you need help, i would check out. america's professor. he is a professor from u of montana. very good course. if he doesn't have your state, get the national test...

Who are you using for prelicensing? Usually you can just call them for clarification of a question.

I have to admit, I dont remember anything about moral or physical hazard. I reread a couple times and that just doesnt ring a bell. I cant ever recall hearing those terms related to insurance.

I cant imagine a claims person saying we arent covering this because its a morale hazard???

I would think, in your example with the fireplace, it would be both!

There is both a morale and moral hazard. They do appear to be the same but they are not.