Wellcare 2024?

A consumer question about Wellcare.

I do NOT want this question to start another of the MAPD vs PDP/Medigap debates.

I have the low price Wellcare PDP and plan to continue it in 2024.

I don't think I have had any "unknown switching" concerns up to now. This past week I received a Wellcare mailing which included
You owe it to yourself to learn about the savings and benefits you could get with the Wellcare Assist (HMO) plan.

Two questions:
Do you think I should have any concerns about an automatic, unknown (to me) switch from PDP to MAPD?

If so, are there any specific monitoring steps you would recommend I perform to catch it if it should happen?

Thanks.

Wellcare has low star ratings. The question is: do star ratings really matter? Do you consider the star ratings when reviewing the plans?
Sure do and I sell against low rating all the time, every day during AEP.

As an agent, I do not want to deal with any carrier with crappy customer service. Only time I do Wellcare is for PDP.

They have a nice sounding DSNP here, but I move people off it regularly. I've learned that the stars are quite realistic if it's a low rating. What customers are saying to me about low rated carriers/plans do in fact reflect what the low star rating is suggesting.

Sure do and I sell against low rating all the time, every day during AEP.

As an agent, I do not want to deal with any carrier with crappy customer service. Only time I do Wellcare is for PDP.

They have a nice sounding DSNP here, but I move people off it regularly. I've learned that the stars are quite realistic if it's a low rating. What customers are saying to me about low rated carriers/plans do in fact reflect what the low star rating is suggesting.

Try moving someone off a plan with good benefits to a higher star plan with little to no benefits . They’ll tell you to hit the road . Been threw that a bunch . They’ll say that got no problems with the plan