Cold Calling Help

eclipsed

I've decided to start cold calling until I have enough money to start buying leads. I have a couple questions for those of you with cold calling experience.

1. So far I've written down 48 phone numbers of small businesses in my area. I thought talking to small business owners would bring more success than cold calling regular people at home. Is this true?

2. What is the success rate for cold calling? I was thinking it was like 5 appointments for every 100 calls (5% success rate), is that about right?

So far my script is:

Hello, I am a Life Insurance agent in your area calling to make sure that small business owners like yourself are both protected by life insurance and are paying a fair price. Do you currently have life insurance?- (Yes/No) -My company offers life insurance from 27 different companies to make sure that you get the best protection for the best price, would you be interested to see if my company can save you money?

Is that script good? Can you guys share your scripts with me?

Its a yawner.

"Hi, I'm a life insurance agent in 'your town'. I work with successful business owners like yourself. Would you have any objection to my stopping by to introduce myself?"

Do you really care if they already have coverage? Do they really care how many companies you represent? What is a fair price? Do you really care that business owners are protected?

If they're truly small enough businesses that wouldn't have group benefits already then you would be better served doing a "walk and talk" IMO. Might bring some magnets, or a few brochures with you and just be casual and conversive.

Make a few relationships and then keep stoking the fires once in awhile.

Its a yawner.

"Hi, I'm a life insurance agent in 'your town'. I work with successful business owners like yourself. Would you have any objection to my stopping by to introduce myself?"