Guaranteed Issue - Medigap High F to a Regular F

Mikeol

Hi! I'm new to the insurance industry and want to get some knowledge on this!

Thanks in advance for all the great posts and threads, I have learned much from everyone here!

My main question was this. If someone is on a Medicare Supplement plan, and that plan happens to be a High Deductible Plan F and they are wanting to switch to a regular Plan F, within the same company, are they guaranteed issue WITHOUT underwriting? or Vice versa, going from Plan F to a High deductible F? I've read the choosing a medigap plan, but I think at this point I'm overloaded with information that I can't connect the dots.

Thanks in advance
-Mike! :cool:

Switching to regular Plan F there is definately UW. Probably the same switching to high F. But I do not know why an Ins. Co. would stop an unhealthy person switching to a high F.

Switching to regular Plan F there is definately UW. Probably the same switching to high F. But I do not know why an Ins. Co. would stop an unhealthy person switching to a high F.

Correct on u/w going from High F to Plan F.
Should be NO u/w on switch to High F from Plan F, in other words reducing coverage requires NO u/w, as a general rule.

Not true. Using MOO as an example there is UW on any downgrade in plans.

As a rule of thumb, any time you wish to "upgrade", this will require underwriting approval.
As pointed out above, not always the case.

I don't know of any special underwriting exemption moving from one plan to another, regardless of up or downgrade.

The reason a company wouldn't want to GI a downgrade is that if the person is healthy (and if so he could be underwritten), they receive about 25% of the full Plan F premium.

If the person is not healthy and is subject to a great deal of expense, trading the deductible for 75% of the premium is not a good deal for the company.

So either way, the move will be subject to underwriting - unless I'm told different by an insurance carrier.

Rick