I Have Been Invited to Give a MedSup Seminar... Help?!

NAF1138

Guru
I don't do seminar sales, but I made a friend who has invited to give seminars at 4 senior centers I in the first 2 weeks of October. While I used to be a teacher and am comfortable talking to groups I have never given an insurance seminar and don't know what should be expected. My biggest questions are, what should I focus on, is putting together a PowerPoint a good idea or is it a distraction, how do I convert the seminar into actual appointments? I am sure there is a ton of stuff I haven't even thought of. I am out of my depth (I have only been selling insurance at all since March) but it seemed like too good an opportunity to turn down. Can you guys help?

If it matters I am in Pennsylvania.

Powerpoint equals snooze fest. Don't do it.

Can you have the attendees fill out a questionnaire prior to the event on what their biggest frustrations/confusions are? Then just talk about that stuff.

If not then start out your presentation with "I have tons of boring power points I can show you or we can specifically focus on what would be helpful to you today. Let me know which one sounds better…" (they will NEVER say powerpoint)

Then poll the audience and generate an outline WITH them on a dry erase board and there's your presentation.

Groups love this because it shows you actually care about THEM... not just ramming a canned speech down their throats. The more interactive you are the better.

To convert to appointments end your presentation with a call to action.

"If you want more in-depth help about ____ call me or schedule a time for us to get together."

Also make sure you get everyones name, E-mail, and phone you you can drip market to them and continue to add value and follow up building relationships.

Powerpoint equals snooze fest. Don't do it.

I agree.

These people are already looking for an excuse to shut their eyes.