Advice on going independent

a_decade_after

Greetings All,

Thanks in advice for reading through this long post and providing your sincere advice. As the headline says, I’m considering becoming a sole proprietor and going independent, and would appreciate advice from those who have done it.

About me:
I’m 56 years old with 11 years to fully retire. I have 10 years of P&C experience where I was a successful sales agent with an independent agency (no book ownership).

I’ve since left that agency, mainly due to commission changes where my income receded and then stagnated, and toward the end of my tenure I generally wasn't happy there. I have since taken time off to reevaluate my next career direction. I have a few options on the table, one with a large agency as a sales manager, salary and commissions between 60-75k max. full benefits. Etc.

I’ve had a longing to start my own independent agency ever since I got into the business, but never knew where to start and the path / pitfalls to success. But now this desire is even stronger and I have some capital to start.

My concerns:

Success ratio
I’ve read new agency success rate is very low, mainly due to the agency owner not having enough leads, or getting in front of enough prospects, resulting in the inability to generate enough income quickly, ramp up quickly, and support themselves and their families. What are some of the major challenges in being successful as a sole proprietor, independant agency owner?

Prospects / leads
This brings me to my next concern – When the doors open from day one, how did you generate enough prospect volume? I would imagine that lead / prospect volume is vital in the first few months and even more critical starting out on your own then having a base + commission job at an established agency. How did you generate or acquire enough prospects? What is the cost/benefit ratio on lead buying?

Carrier appointments