Advice on going independent

Says the guy with a freakishly tiny left hand. :confused:

ryan-little-hand.gif

I don't understand what being new on the form has to do with anything. Can you elaborate on what you're eluding to?

In your post below, you seem disappointed that not enough people are responding to a post, yet you with 10 years experience, and what I expect is a lot to offer, have only posted a few times in the last few months. That's what I was getting at.

400 + views on this thread and only two new members responded? I recall when I first got into the business 10 years ago this forum was jumping and active with lots of helpful posts. Now, not so much. Crickets.

In your post below, you seem disappointed that not enough people are responding to a post, yet you with 10 years experience, and what I expect is a lot to offer, have only posted a few times in the last few months. That's what I was getting at.

I see. Well, I was a corporate agent, so a lot of my experience may not be of interest to most here. But I'd be willing to share what I know.

Hi Bill,
Thanks for the reply. My biggest concern starting out on my own are prospects. My question for you is - Where do you get prospects / leads? Significant enough to generate the quantity of sales needed to ramp up quickly?

Without leads we can't write business right? So that's certainly a good thing to focus on.

Most independents who write alot of home and auto have established relationships with loan officers and in some instances, auto dealerships.

Some folks purchase aged leads. I've not personally done that but when speaking with those who have, I'm consistently told the retention on that type of business is significantly lower... you get alot of price shoppers.

Insurance is still a relationship driven business in the sense that people tell people tell people tell people :)

I'm in Arizona myself... Mesa.

Where are you located?