Can An Accident Make You A Better Driver?

Safeway

Hey. New member here. I have a specific question. (TL;DR Question in the title.)

Backstory

I've been driving for about 20 years and was in my first auto accident in early 2019. It was extremely minor. I was approaching a traffic light before dawn and the driver in front of me came to a quick stop instead of turning as I had anticipated based on their blinker and choice of lane. I was paying full attention, saw this, and slammed on the breaks. My car hit a patch of black ice and slid into the back of the car. Very minor damage.

While my car only suffered a few minor scratches, I was devastated. It's been such a stressful time and an emotional roller-coaster. When I reported the accident, I was handed a claims number in the reporting center as they deal directly with my insurance company. My insurance company was great at first helping me through the claims process for about 3 months or so but then the claims adjuster screwed up so I called him on it. I very politely told him he needed to fix the situation with my claim and get back to me but haven't heard back from him in nearly 14 or so month now.

While I wait for him to get back to me so I know how to repair my car, I've noticed a trend. I think about the accident several times a day and my spare time has gone towards researching insurance stuff.

When my insurance renewed I noticed I was paying about 15% higher premium even though the claim still sits at $0. While I can handle this, it's what I noticed next that's got me the most concerned and made me question things.

Today