Continuous CMS and DNC Violations

Bob L

Guru
100+ Post Club
Tennessee
Today I got yet another in a series of telemarketing calls for MAPD plans. We've been on the DNC list for years, which I am aware only stops honest telemarketers. The lady sounded like she might be a Filipino or some such. The spoofed caller ID purportedly was from Kentucky(!).

Normally I hang up but this time I was driving to a 140-mile-away appointment and had some time to kill. I allowed her to do a warm transfer to an agent. He introduced himself and I asked for his name and phone number in case we got cut off, and he provided both, saying he worked for "Senior Solutions." A brief internet search indicates the name and phone number are a real person in Greenville IN.

There was no disclaimer given nor was there anything about the call being recorded. After he began his spiel, I informed him that I am a Medicare plan broker myself and did not appreciate the numerous violations of law and CMS regs. Then I hung up on him.

I'm not really planning on reporting this guy, but my question for the forum is this: How do these people keep their licenses after repeatedly ignoring a slew of laws and regulations on unsolicited contacts? Does the excuse "I didn't place the call -- the unsolicited contact was merely transferred to me" really stand up with CMS? A better question -- do they care?

When I go through Nashville and single-occupied cars zip by during prohibited hours in the HOV-only lane, I often feel like a dope for abiding by the law. I feel the same way when I follow the CMS rules and these guys skirt the regs with apparently no consequences.

Y'all's thoughts are most welcome and appreciated.