Does this sound like my salary is actually a draw/advance?

Bunny95

Hi. I'm very new to the insurance world and just got my P and C license. And I got a job offer from Farmers...from an independent agency that I'll be working under.

But the manager is not willing to give me an actual offer letter. She keeps pushing me to accept the offer and keeps talking about how high the commission is. She also wants me to pay for the background check (is this common?).

But since my base salary is $14/hr, why would she also give me 30% commission on new accounts and 20% on renewals?

That just seems like a lot of commission plus a base salary, since I have zero experience.

Is it possible that my salary is actually a draw on future commissions and that's why she won't give me a written offer letter?

She also briefly mentioned me possibly signing future contracts to hit quotas...that would be to get advances on commission too right?

I don't want any advances or any potential debt...not at all.

I would not take a job where I didn't understand my compensation. Or where it wasn't documented.

What's to prevent her from saying six months from now "30% and 20%? No, I told you it was 15% and 10%" and what proof have you?

Is that 30% immediately vested or is it earned as-paid? (i.e., what if client cancels after 2 months?)

And as @myfakename pointed out, it is assuredly 30% of the commission the agency earns, not 30% of the premium.

Never worked for Farmer's but my understanding is that in the captive world, it's not unusual to pay a salary + commission. Of course, if your production is weak they will conclude you're not worth the salary and that is fair. Again, I'd want to know going in what expectations are.

Cloaking all this in mystery really serves no one's purpose. What's the big deal about sharing the comp plan? You make money, they make money - it's not rocket science and I can see no reason to not be clear and documented.