How are homeowner's insurance agents compensated when....

Harold-07

I switch between a homeowner's insurance policy that insures my house for business use and one for no business (which is cheaper) every 6 months instead of just renewing once per year. Long story, but I only conduct business at my home for 6 months out of the year. This means having to switch carriers. I was wondering if my agent makes money each time a new policy is sold? And is there a trailer commission paid out over time that gets cut off when I end the policy early, in which case the agent has to work twice as hard for the same amount of money?

So I'm basically wondering if an agent might be conflicted one way or another in discouraging me from wanting to switch policies every 6 months instead of sticking to the same policy all the time.

Property/Casualty agencies are typically paid a flat commission regardless of whether it's a new or renewal policy. At least it was that way back in my day when I was an agent. I'll defer to anybody currently an agent if it works differently.

I'm curious as to what kind of business you run for only 6 months out of the year. The answer is important because you may be operating under the illusion that you have something that you don't have. It doesn't make sense to have to switch carriers every 6 months.

I'm curious as to what kind of business you run for only 6 months out of the year. The answer is important because you may be operating under the illusion that you have something that you don't have. It doesn't make sense to have to switch carriers every 6 months.
Airbnb not covered by normal homeowner's policy. More expensive to add that coverage.