ICD-10 Diagnoses Codes of Life Insurance Doom

DocLeah

Hello all,

I'm brand new because I'm a doctor and avoid all type of insurance questions like the plague... however, it's a must in my current model of practice. I'm giving a presentation next week to a bunch of docs on neurological disorders and one thing I want to bring to attention is codes we shouldn't use flippantly. We all want to get paid and not get audited, which leaves us liable to losing our entire practices as it's as silly as a Monty Python flick but less enjoyable.

SO, my question is - do YOU know of any red flag code list that would cause our patients to be denied for life insurance (or other insurances?). For instance, "Major depression" is overused. People get really sad and have for centuries; must we label them into being excluded. I used "Obesity, unspecified" and had an insurance company want to know how obese, exactly.

I will code people as I think they should be, but that being said, the icd10 code book is larger than the Bible, so I can choose wisely... or just flippantly label people for life and mess up their lives. Can you help?

Don't just limit to life insurance underwriting, but health insurance as well. Even though Obamacare eliminated underwriting for traditional individual health insurance there are still long term care plans, disability and sometimes Medicare supplement plans.

I did find a few codes that probably won't cause any problems.
W55.21 (bitten by a cow)
W61-33 (pecked by a chicken)
Y93-D1 (injured while knitting)
W56-22 (struck by Orca whale, initial encounter)

My personal favorite, V91-07 (burned due to water ski's on fire)
20 bizarre new ICD-10 codes | Medical Economics

Hello all,