Medicare insurance jobs pros and cons

Wendy Forward

Expert

I am looking for a Medicare insurance job. There are a few types out there, and I’m wondering if any of you can advise. The one I’m looking at gives you free leads, it’s a 1099 and has an LOA program. But the downside seems to be in the long run. Because, you get to keep your residuals but they are paid to you from the company itself, in other words from the FMO. Could this be a sticky issue years down the road when my residuals have built up to a large amount? I’m wondering if it would be fairly easy for this company to keep part of my residuals and hide it somehow . As opposed to being paid your residuals directly from the carriers. Aren’t the carriers a lot more regulated by the government so that they could not hide any fraud like that? So what they’re giving you for that looks like it’s just free leads. Free leads sounds good to me now because I’m just starting out and I’m working to get money not to pay money out if you know what I mean. The name of the FMO is called Agent Boost. Please reply as soon as you can because I have to make my decision soon, I am unemployed at the present. Thank you
PS, there are other FMO’s that are W-2 but you don’t get any residuals with them at all.

If you're an LOA, they aren't your residuals or clients. You leave, you lose everything. You've assigned them to the company/agent.

There is absolutely zero reason to assign your commissions if there's no salary. Even if you get free leads (which are almost always trash) they could just reduce your commission by a few percentage points, but not have you assign.

If you want to be in insurance as an LOA, just go work for a call center.

Leave the commissioned FMOs alone.Your goal is to have a job, not run a business. You need a company that does LOA with a salary, benefits, and hopefully a bonus structure.

Last edited: