Networking Events for New Agents

JTylerH

So like the title states, I am a new agent and researching networking events near me in a bid to not rely totally on immediate friends and family. I am located in North Jersey about 30 mins from NYC and have found a bunch that I plan to check out. They seem to range from tacos and drinks to chambers of commerce and town hall meetings.

Being new, I am not ruling anything out until I get a feel for what my niche and target demo will end up being. Plus, I may be the odd one in thinking this, but watching people get drunk and karaoke and then pitch their goods/services could at the very least be a new form of entertainment. Still, I felt warranted to see what out of the box ideas the creative minds here can muster up... sarcastic comments included (not like I have a choice anyways :cool:)

"Having something to say is far more important than having someone to say it to." - Thomas F. Love

Most 'net'-working events end up being more 'not'-working events. I won't say not to do them, but you certainly already have the mentality of just seeing what can happen.

Just make sure you're prepared to say something on what you do and have it not just be about what you sell.

So like the title states, I am a new agent and researching networking events near me in a bid to not rely totally on immediate friends and family. I am located in North Jersey about 30 mins from NYC and have found a bunch that I plan to check out. They seem to range from tacos and drinks to chambers of commerce and town hall meetings.