New Broker Seeking Answers

aka33

A quick background on myself; I graduated UC Berkeley in engineering but due to the economy, after working in the engineering field for 3 years, obtained my P&C License. I have been working for an auto insurance brokerage for about 5 months now and have been the top broker/producer in my district.

Now for my questions:

1) im am giving huge chunks of my broker fees to the company that employees me (around 75%) and was curious if all firms were like this?

2) I dont have much experience but I was wondering what would be the most profitable line of insurance for someone with a P&C license can do? Basically I really want to make more money but dont really know what options I have.

Any responses would be greatly appreciated

What is the rest of your pay structure? Are you paid a portion of commissions as well? What about renewal commissions? Are you paid a salary?

There are other factors to consider as well: do you own the book of business you are writing? Are you provided leads? Are they training you well?

My agency doesn't charge broker fees so obviously we don't split those. We do split commission 50/50 though. Depending on the answers to the questions above, a 25/75 split might not be unfair.

A quick background on myself; I graduated UC Berkeley in engineering but due to the economy, after working in the engineering field for 3 years, obtained my P&C License. I have been working for an auto insurance brokerage for about 5 months now and have been the top broker/producer in my district.

Now for my questions:

1) im am giving huge chunks of my broker fees to the company that employees me (around 75%) and was curious if all firms were like this?

2) I dont have much experience but I was wondering what would be the most profitable line of insurance for someone with a P&C license can do? Basically I really want to make more money but dont really know what options I have.

Any responses would be greatly appreciated