Newbie: My First 24 Hours on the Job...

What should I do?

• Total voters
Long story short:
I'm 26, working at Home Depot and a co-worker of mine introduced me to the prospect of selling insurance for a living.

His Dad (We'll call him John) is an insurance agent in this area and he's "looking for new people". Apparently he's got 25 years experience and is a guru. My buddy tells me he's working for him soon and I should join. I decided to "interview" with him, and all went well. He decided to pay the $279 for me to get licensed with the state (Michigan). I studied my ass off for 2 weeks, and got a 88 on the test. At this point I'm looking forward to learning/working with John and I'm eager to get started.

Well, I go in today and I ended up getting "into it" with John regarding a misunderstanding of how often he wanted me in the office. One thing leads to another and he fires a barrage of belittling statements at me, saying "I dont need you; You're no benefit to me; You came to ME for a new career; Are you calling ME a liar; Do you know who I am??" etc...

Now I'm having second thoughts - I have a extensive background in retail sales and I know the fundamentals of selling. I've always done VERY well in sales and I view this as an opportunity to change my life.

However, I'm not sure weather to
1) Stick with this guy and do as he says to learn from his experience...
2) Consider interviewing with another IA in the area
3) Try to become a captive agent with a "big name" (oh the horror stories I've read...)
or 4) Work for Home Depot the rest of my life (kidding!) :twitchy:

Assuming I've done my research, and I can "handle" the demand this industry requires - what advice would you give me?

How do you get into it with your boss (friends dad) right away? Did he want you to be out of the office to find leads? What was he expecting you to do, or what were you expecting to do?

Good question, I should have clarified.