Odd Contracting Question

Dabetes

Currently I am an employee agent at a independent agency and they recently had us sign a non-compete/non-solicit agreement. This agreement says I cannot sell health/life insurance for one year within 120 miles of the main office. Is it ethical/doable to start my own agency and sell only to states that are not my home state until that one year runs out? I’m in Wisconsin.

The reason I ask this question is when I originally took the job almost 5 years ago they said that we would become independent agents ourselves but within the last year that took that option away from us.

Thanks for any answer.

Personally, it's doable but will be harder. Most clients like that I'm local. My more retainable clients that is. Perhaps the contract is only for contracts they hold..? Can you sell other MA/PDP/MAPD for carriers you were NOT contracted with through them?

Currently I am an employee agent at a independent agency and they recently had us sign a non-compete/non-solicit agreement. This agreement says I cannot sell health/life insurance for one year within 120 miles of the main office. Is it ethical/doable to start my own agency and sell only to states that are not my home state until that one year runs out? I’m in Wisconsin.

The reason I ask this question is when I originally took the job almost 5 years ago they said that we would become independent agents ourselves but within the last year that took that option away from us.

Thanks for any answer.

Did they ask you to sign a new contract of employment that changed the non-compete rules in the 5th year? Maybe your Dept of Insurance could help you with this question?

You cant solicit their business but they cant stop you from making a living. I dont think they can enforce something so broad

recently had us sign a non-compete/non-solicit agreement. This agreement says I cannot sell health/life insurance for one year within 120 miles of the main office.