Starting Out to Sell Insurance ...

Zac

Expert
Hello Everybody:

This is my first post here and I'd really appreciate if somebody could give me some advice considering my situation.

I am an engineer by profession from the NY Metro area trying to get myself into the Insurance business as I always wanted to start my own business.
My plan now is to continue working full time at my job and start working as an Independent Insurance agent part-time until I feel comfortable thereby reducing my regular work hours and slowly moving towards being a full-time independent agent. I know as a newbie starting out with little experience in marketing, not to expect any substantial earning potential but will be more than happy if I be able to at least show a marginal profit from the business during the next tax year. That being said let me get to the real questions.

1) Considering my situation which type of insurance licensing should I pursue that would make some sense with regards to compensation and volume of business ( I am in the process of getting my 'Life & Health' license just because at the time I didn't know there were multiple type of licenses needed to practice in all diff. fields)

2)I now know that it takes a good amount of training to be a successful in the field so as a newbie trying to be independent, do I have a chance of getting such training or should I have to learn everything the hard way

3) Will it be beneficial for me to join any of the 'Smart choice, Hartford, Eric, Hybrid, big I) groups or is there another better way?

4) How would i be able to get a contract from most of the A- rated companies to sell their policies.. Is there a procedure..

I've been reading lot of great responses on this forum and I appreciate those who spend their valuable time trying to help, support and encourage those who need help and advice.

Best regards,

Zac.

This really isn't a part time business. What has you interested in becoming a part of it?