United of Omaha Medigap

ValeRosso

Guru
What is your experience with United of Omaha and their medigap plans? Do they raise rates more than the average? Are they a solid company to go with for medigap? Anything I should know?

I’m wondering this because 100% of my medigap clients are either Aetna, Humana, UHC, and a family member wants a medigap plan and UoO is coming in $20 cheaper per month, next being UHC. I’m biased towards my usual medigap companies, and I don’t want to blindly put her with a company that I have no medigap experience with, and I’d hate myself if I put her in a cheaper plan today and next year she’s already paying more than another carrier.

Thoughts?

What is your experience with United of Omaha and their medigap plans? Do they raise rates more than the average? Are they a solid company to go with for medigap? Anything I should know?

I’m wondering this because 100% of my medigap clients are either Aetna, Humana, UHC, and a family member wants a medigap plan and UoO is coming in $20 cheaper per month, next being UHC. I’m biased towards my usual medigap companies, and I don’t want to blindly put her with a company that I have no medigap experience with, and I’d hate myself if I put her in a cheaper plan today and next year she’s already paying more than another carrier.

Thoughts?
MOFO is famous for starting cheap and quickly raising the rates. Don't hate yourself next year. :)

MOFO is famous for starting cheap and quickly raising the rates. Don't hate yourself next year. :)

Aetna plays the same game. They have 5 or 6 carriers in the rotation now. Omaha has about the same.

Humana now has Achieve and Value plans . . . no idea what those are about since they are not competitive here . . . the few cases I have are "mature" . . . they were a PITA to work with (carrier, not the client). Humana also offers an "early enrollment discount" . . . no idea how it works . . . could be another gimmick.