Who Sells in NY?

andy6479

I have a client in FL, whose son is going to school in NY. He wants health insurance for his son. Can anyone help?

Thanks

Good luck. The NY individual market is virtually non-existent, best case scenario is for him to have his son on his insurance.

Good luck. The NY individual market is virtually non-existent, best case scenario is for him to have his son on his insurance.

^

Or buy the crappy insurance the school probably offers. My brother lives in New York....the premiums for one person were around $1000/month for a pretty average plan and I believe they were all HMO's.

That's an excellent point. Upstate he might be able to find something for $500/month.

Thanks for the comments so far. I am new to health, mostly doing life previously. If he was just added to his father's coverage it would be accepted in NY? Or would everything be considered out of network if looking at a ppo?

Thanks

Thanks for the comments so far. I am new to health, mostly doing life previously. If he was just added to his father's coverage it would be accepted in NY? Or would everything be considered out of network if looking at a ppo?

Thanks

Totally depends on the carrier. If they have a national network then they would most likely have a network in NY, but you can always check.

I had a client this week tell me his daughter was required to take the insurance from her college in MA. He lives in NY. He was telling me the college wouldn't let her stay on his plan from NY.

Anyway, it worked out cheaper for him in the end to have her get the college insurance - just thought that was an interesting situation.