Career change

jh24787

Hello everyone,
I'm considering changing careers and getting licensed to sell insurance. I have no previous background in the business and am researching to figure out the best way to get started. First I must say, I've been reading posts for the past few days and really love the honest opinions folks give, it's refreshing!

Anyway, I've already been called by AFLAC, Bankers Life, and a couple of other companies around Indianapolis wanting to setup interviews. Is there anyone out there in Indiana that can give me a good idea of how to get started and what I can expect in this area of the country? What are some great companies to start out with and to avoid?

As you can imagine I have a lot of questions at this point and look forward to reading your responses.

not in Indiana but I would pretty much avoid any company which took my personal info off the internet from my resume posting (AFLAC and Bankers Life are famous for that)

Would you like a managerial job?

I'll tell you what if you listen to what these guys have to say on this forum, you can't go wrong, there is certainly a wealth of knowledge within in these walls. Personally I've been in the business for about a month now, originally looked into the Life/Health side but ended up going with Property/Casualty, with no previous background in sales or insurance. I'm really glad I made the change because not only can you make a decent living but you have the opportunity to help alot of people protect what is important to themselves and maybe even help them save a buck or two, to me that's what it's all about. I got hooked up with an Allstate Agent and don't regret it in the least, great guy whose been in the business for over 30 years, will be retiring soon so may fall into something even better then I could have imagined. Well good luck in whatever direction you go and like I said these guys have some awesome advice don't be afraid to ask.
Later
Roger