E&O Forced Upon an Agent

Neptune1

Hello all,
Sorry I posted this to an incorrect spot.
Thanks for your patients.

I am new to this. Can someone tell me why a broker-dealer in New York can force New York agents to come under their E&O policy?

I was told that NY State law allows for an opt out?

Thanks,

Neptune

So you want to go without E&O, or you just want to buy from someone other than your broker/dealer?

Most broker/dealers will want you to use their E&O so they can control it and make sure you are current. New York law may allow you to opt out, but the b/d could also just drop your registration. Also, picking a fight with your new b/d is not the way to start things off on the right foot.

So you want to go without E&O, or you just want to buy from someone other than your broker/dealer?

Most broker/dealers will want you to use their E&O so they can control it and make sure you are current. New York law may allow you to opt out, but the b/d could also just drop your registration. Also, picking a fight with your new b/d is not the way to start things off on the right foot.

X2... Every B/D I was ever with required us to use thier E&O, it was more costly than what I could find out on the private market and the other thing that was crazy is a rep or group of reps somewhere else could be sued and use up the entire companies coverage leaving you exposed and tough luck for you. The problem is you might have a law on your side but there is nothing requiring the B/D from just dropping your registration.

All very good points....so when does the State law designed to protect actually work for the agent? If the New York law allows us to seek better and less expensive coverage forces us out of the broker dealer?

Then find another b/d or drop your registration.