Aflac......

insurancemadness

I don't post much, but read a lot on this site. My question:

I am an insurance agent but I don't sell aflac or di. My dog groomer is self employed and runs her business from home. She was approached by an aflac rep and asked me to look over some aflac brochures for her. It seems pretty straight forward, but I need clarification on this scenerio :

She is injured while grooming a dog and can't work. All the brochures talk about is outside of work accidents and I can't find anything about self employed on the job accidents that cause St disabilities.

Also based off her self employed status and occupation is their anything else she needs to know about aflac before she purchases a policy?

Their indemnity plan says it will pay on any "covered" accident, on or off the job. Would need to look at the specific plan she bought to determine. A definite "Maybe". How is that for wishy-washy? Best of Luck.

Take care,

fangard

My guess, based on what I have read is that is a worker's comp issue and STDisability will not cover on the job.

----------

Probably multiple types of policies, but here is a starting point.

Won't let me post a url, so try this. I am too "new"

Google:
Mckinney ISD short term disability

It will be the first thing to pop up after the AFLAC paid link. It is a generic brochure.

My guess, based on what I have read is that is a worker's comp issue and STDisability will not cover on the job.

She is self employed.. Wouldn't have workman's comp. Don't know about now but AFLAC did offer a choice plans that were off job only or 24 hours coverage. If you are talking about this plan, it is on and off the job unless the emplacement falls under one of the excluded activities such as driving a taxi

http://www.wabash.edu/hr/docs/AFLAC Accident Brochure Level 1.pdf

Last edited: