Bad Credit and Why?

Jimmy Prince

Expert
Why do you need good credit to work for theses big insurance company's? I tried to get into a few of the larger companys and they said everything is fin except 2 bad things on my credit report. whats with this?:nah:

Why do you need good credit to work for theses big insurance company's? I tried to get into a few of the larger companys and they said everything is fin except 2 bad things on my credit report. whats with this?:nah:

Most of my time as an insurance agent my job is to improve thier financial picture....Should they be taking thier advice from someone that screwed up thier own financial house?

Trust me I know there can be many reasons that can happend wbut this is the way the carriers are looking at it...The other reason is most of these carriers are going to be advancing you commissions (read loan) and like anyone making a loan they want someone with a good financial picture.

Norway nailed it. Keep in mind the liability of an insurance carrier as well. If the agent screws over the client, who gets sued? Sure there are some producers who make good livings but nothing compared to the money behind the insurance company which is ultimately liable for your actions as their appointed producer (hence they will likely be sued rather than the producer).

Credit is often looked at as a means of judging a persons character, it is used for employment, purchasing auto/home insurance, etc. Right or wrong, there are only so many factors that can be utilized to learn about a person without a lengthy interview and background search. This is a quick method of determining a person's sense of responsibility.

This is not germane only for ins cos, but most of corp American isn't going to offer you for a decent job if you've got dings on your credit history. In their theory, it says something about you as a person if you cannot manage credit, and it probably does.