New to Cold Calling, Getting Discouraged Already

beachbum2012

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
I found this forum a couple months ago and have read (and re-read) a ton of the threads on here already, especially in the Cold Calling forum. Lots of good info. I've got just less than a year under my belt as a L&H agent. I'm a non-captive agent with one of the biggest agencies in MI that sell Medicare products. They set about 5 T65 appointments for us per week, so that leaves plenty of time left to prospect. So based on advice from some of the most successful agents at our agency, and from many of you in this forum, I purchased a list of 67-75 year-olds and have started cold calling.

Now granted I'm just getting started, but I'm already getting frustrated. I'm not using a dialer to start so I can take a few minutes after calls where I actually have a conversation to think about what was said and how it could've gone better. So far through about 250 dials (8-10 hours), I haven't set any appointments or even gotten any interest. I've had 56 contacts out of these 250. What adds to the frustration is that over 25% of the numbers I purchased are bad (e.g. disconnected, fax #'s, etc.).

This being the first list I've ever purchased and never cold calling before, it's a little demoralizing. I understand it's a numbers game, about variance, etc., but it's a little hard to believe in something I haven't had any success at yet. I'm using the Medsupp script at freetelemarketingscripts to start which seems pretty solid, so I'm not sure there's a problem with the script.