Independent Agent Working Mult. States - S Corp Vs LLC

Chfebc

Greetings,

I work as an independent agent and have a niche market for life insurance that comprises the majority of my business but requires me to cover 9 different states. I work with multiple carriers in those states. I was convinced that the S Corp had extra benefits for my business model when it came to taxation (and even the added protection) in comparison to a simple LLC. I have since established my Corp as an S Corp and am finding many hurdles and expenses to jump through in order to get the business licensed and appointed in each state that I work. Fees, minutes, additional licensing expenses, additional filing with the Secretary of State's office in some states, and a general lack of guidance (my CPA hasn't ever worked with an Independent Financial Adviser before, my mentors haven't looked into it, and my connections at the different carriers each have different rules that their carriers adhere to).

I am young though and plan to be in the industry for a long time, are these headaches a 1 time thing? Will this be a ton of extra work every year? On top of the tax implications, are the additional layers of protection the S Corp offers worthwhile if I am in the start of a long lucrative career in the industry?

Do independent agents use the S Corp filings instead of an LLC often?
Is my situation different because of the territory (9 diff state DOI's to deal with etc) and/or the # of carriers I work with (4)?
I do not currently have any employees or agents under me, nor do I have plans to add any for a couple years (I will eventually though).

If I have made a mistake in filing as an S Corp, what goes into changing it???

Thanks in advance!

Why do you need to license the company itself?