Considering Becoming an Agent. I Need Advice

dgibson9

Feel free to be harsh with any advice given.

A little background about myself. I served in the army for 4 years, stationed in Germany for a good chunk of it, was deployed for 1 year of my time in the army. I am currently 3 part time quarters away from an associates of arts. I work in event sales (face to face sales) I have done that for over the past 2 years. 100% commission.

I have interviewed with New England Financial. They are a metlife subsidiary.

Pending my background check, I've been hired on.

I will have to obtain my health and life license and series 6 license.

The one thing I am uncomfortable with is the 25 Natural Market Surveys. After completion of this, I will have to make a 50 person wedding list.

I do not want to market my family and friends. They will know I am an insurance agent. Small talk about what I do will surely arise. If they really feel they need or want my services, I am sure they will approach me. I do not want to sell them.

Will I lose this position if I do not do this?

I have no shame marketing to the rest of the people in my state. In fact here are some ideas I would like to try.

Cold calling
Door to door
Newsletters
Mailers
Social networking
buying leads
Join organizations and activities that get me out in the 'public eye'

If I were to work this marketing plan.. would I really need my small natural market?

I have no issue working long hours for delayed gratification as I build my book of business.

Any input would be great!

Don't pitch to your family and friends.

I know why they tell agents to do it but I believe the real reason is they don't give a damn about the agent or whether or not he is successful. Their primary interest is in putting business on the books and they do it at the agent's expense.