Lead Sources (Direct Mail)

BeHappy1

Expert
I am new to the business (9 months) and I belong to an IMO in which I have been getting leads. They are mostly direct mail and I do VERY well with them. But I am learning that I could be earning a lot more commission if I was totally independent. So I tried internet leads (netquote, insuranceagents.com etc) - did not close a single one (they were just people price shopping or fradulent).
I thought about doing my own direct mail, but when I look at the rate of return of 1-2% and what I would be spending to mail out vs what I would be closing it adds up to more than what I am spending on leads now with the IMO.
I am looking for advice about doing my own direct mail. Is it worth it to spend a little more doing my own direct mail leads and in return get a higher commission? I would really appreciate any information about doing direct mail for myself.

If you are doing "VERY well" and earning a good living at what you're doing now, odds are you should stick with what you're doing. Generating leads as an indy agent will yield you a higher spread on the business you write, but it's difficult to get a good system up and running from scratch and you may go broke in the process. Response rates can vary quite a bit.

If you are doing "VERY well" and earning a good living at what you're doing now, odds are you should stick with what you're doing. Generating leads as an indy agent will yield you a higher spread on the business you write, but it's difficult to get a good system up and running from scratch and you may go broke in the process. Response rates can vary quite a bit.
Good advice. If it's not broken why do you need to fix it.

I should have explained more, but I didn't want to ramble. I definitely agree with the "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" attitude.