Need Some Direction/advice/wisdom

Indiana_Adam

Guru
100+ Post Club
I'm a new Insurance agent for AAA(captive). I sell membership and P&C. We also offer life and health products, but I've not yet obtained that license (it's on the ever growing list of things to do). Honestly, I feel overwhelmed and under-productive at this point. Luckily, for the first 2.5 years I'm on a salary schedule that gradually gets smaller, until I am commission only. This is the first real sales job I've ever had, so I'm starting from scratch in that regard. I've got a list of books to obtain and start reading, but that does me no good while I'm sitting in the office, trying to find prospects. I've started an Ad in our local Coffee News, wear my name tage everywhere I go, and hand my business card out at every chance. I've also joined the chamber of commerece and will be attending the CNNs (business networking meeting/speed-dating for businesses). I want to start purchasing some leads and doing some cold calling, but I'm not sure where to jump in. Beyond that, I'm not sure what else to do. Any help is greatly appreciated! I feel like a bum sitting in my office trying to come up with things to do.

Do you have a busy lobby? Are you introducing yourself to each person that comes in?

Does AAA have an incentive program for the other associates to refer members to you? Can you train them in how to refer them to you?

If they'd let you, then you should cold call. You're selling a commodity item and it's much easier to market a commodity where you can save folks money, then create a need (life insurance). Buy a list, pick up the phone, make some money!